Ilayaraja and A R Rahman get Padma Bhushan


The most prestigious civilian awards – the Padma awards 2010 were announced today. 130 awards will be given at a grand function at the Rashtrapathi Bhavan, New Delhi in the month of March/April. Of the total 130 awardees, 6 are Padma Vibhushan, 43 Padma Bhushan, and 81 Padma Shri.

The awards are announced every year and handed over to the individuals who excel in the field of art, medicine, literature & education, trade and industry, sports, public affairs, civil service, journalism, science and engineering and social work.

In the field of Arts some of the prominent personalities who will be presented with the high status awards are popular music directors, Ilayaraja and Oscar winner A R Rahman who will be awarded the Padma Bhushan. Bollywood star Aamir Khan also will be bestowed with Padma Bhushan while Rekha (Bollywood) and Saif Ali Khan will receive Padma Shri.

Awards for the sports category include, cricketer Virendra Shewag, badminton star Saina Nehwal, boxer Vijendra Singh and racer Narai


Most Recent