Rahman voted Indian of the Year 2009

Winner of two Oscars, leading music composer A.R. Rahman was voted Indian of the Year 2009 in an on line poll conducted by a leading national magazine.

Rahman got 27% of the votes polled by visitors to the website. The Mozart of Madras was followed by Congress General Secretary and Amethi MP Rahul Gandhi at 17.42% and cricket legend Sachin Tendulkar at 16.67%.

The top performing industrialist was Tata Group chairman Ratan Tata who got 12.5% of the votes. Among other politicians, former Andhra Pradesh CM Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy, who died in a helicopter crash in September, scored 8.7% of the votes, followed by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh at 7.9%, Congress chief Sonia Gandhi at 4.2% and BJP parliamentary party chairman L.K. Advani at 2.7%.

The only nominee who failed to get even a single vote was former Jharkhand CM Madhu Koda, who has been charged with massive corruption during his tenure. The other contenders were Telangana Rashtra Samithi chief K. Chandrasekhar Rao, Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee, Home Minister P. Chidambaram, HRD Minister Kapil Sibal, Railway Minister Mamata Banerjee, Maharashtra Navnirman Sena chief Raj Thackeray, item girl-turned-TV star Rakhi Sawant, killer opener Virender Sehwag, Unique ID card project chief Nandan Nilekani, badminton player Saina Nehwal, film actor Amitabh Bachchan and Team India skipper M.S. Dhoni.


Most Recent