‘3 Idiots’ sweeps IIFA awards in Colombo - 2010 IIFA Award Winner List

Colombo: Megastar Aamir Khan’s hit movie “3 Idiots” swept the “Bollywood Oscars” in Sri Lanka this weekend, securing 16 out of 27 awards, including best film.
The film — a coming-of-age comedy about three engineering students — was nominated in 12 of the 13 main categories at the Indian International Film Academy (IIFA) awards and won eight of them on Saturday night.
It had already secured another eight of the 14 technical awards announced last month, including best screenplay and best cinematography.
But actor-producer-director Khan, who stars in the film, was not present at Saturday’s glitzy ceremony in the Sri Lankan capital, Colombo, which was overshadowed by protests from minority Tamils.
The influential film industry in India’s southern Tamil Nadu state, which is home to many Tamil refugees, called for a boycott, arguing that staging the event in Colombo endorsed Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapakse’s government.
Rajapakse is under pressure from the international community to allow a probe into a controversial military strategy that crushed Tamil rebels last year, ending a near four-decade civil war.
The United Nations has said at least 7,000 Tamil civilians were also killed in the final months of fighting last year.
IIFA brand ambassador Amitabh Bachchan, who won the best actor award for his role in “Paa,” was also not present at the awards ceremony.
The best actress award was shared by Kareena Kapoor for her role in “3 Idiots” and Vidya Balan for her role in “Paa.”
Other notable absentees included Bachchan’s actor son Abhishek and daughter-in-law Aishwarya Rai — Bollywood’s leading couple — and megastar Shah Rukh Khan.
Shah Rukh Khan escaped a bomb attack on his concert in Colombo in 2004 that killed two of his fans.
Fans and invitees poured into the venue to catch a glimpse of big-name Bollywood stars like Hrithik Roshan, Salman Khan, Kareena Kapoor and Vivek Oberoi sing and dance scenes from their movies during the near six-hour show.
“I came to see Kareena and Hrithik perform. They were simply fabulous,” said Dinal Corera, a businessman.
“I’m a bit disappointed Amitabh Bachchan stayed away, for the first time in 11 years,” said college student, Isha Mandalaus. “Amitabh’s presence would have raised the award ceremony’s profile.”
Fashion student Heshani Siriwardene said: “I am here to see Salman Khan. I’m a huge fan, so happy to see him perform live.”
IIFA has held its annual awards abroad each year, in a bid to raise the profile of the more than two-billion-dollar Hindi film industry and has seen its international success rise as a result.

Best Film
Vidhu Vinod Chopra - 3 Idiots

Best Performance in a Leading Role (Male)
Amitabh Bachchan - Paa

Best Performance in a Leading Role (Female)
Kareena Kapoor - 3 Idiots & Vidya Balan - Paa

Best Direction
Rajkumar Hirani - 3 Idiots

Best Performance in a Comic Role
Sanjay Dutt - All The Best

Best Performance in a Negative Role
Boman Irani - 3 Idiots

Best Performance in Supporting Role (Male)
Sharman Joshi - 3 Idiots

Best Performance in Supporting Role (Female)
Divya Dutta - Delhi 6

Best Debut of the year (Male)
Omi Vaidya - Jackie Bhagnani

Best Debut of the year (Female)Jacqueline Fernandez - Mahie Gill

Best Playback Singer (Female)
Kavita Seth - Ek Tara (Wake Up Sid)

Best Playback Singer (Male)

Shaan - Behti Hawa Sa Tha Woh (3 Idiots)

Best Music Direction
Pritam - Love Aaj Kal

Best Lyrics
Swanand Kirkire - 3 Idiots

Best Story
Abhijat Joshi, Raj Kumar Hirani, Vidhu Vinod Chopra - 3 Idiots

Habitat For Humanity Ambassadorship
Salman Khan

IIFA outstanding contribution to Hindi Cinema (Male)
J. Om Prakash

IIFA outstanding contribution to Hindi Cinema (Female)
Zeenat Aman

Outstanding Achievement by an Indian Internationally
Anil Kapoor

IIFA Green Global Award
Vivek Oberoi
Technical Awards Winners

Best Screenplay
Abhijat Joshi, Rajkumar Hirani, Vidhu Vinod Chopra (3 Idiots)

Best Cinematography

C.K. Muraleedharan (3 Idiots)

Best Dialogue
Rajkumar Hirani, Abhijat Joshi (3 Idiots)

Best Background Score
Sanjay Wandrekar, Atul Raninga, Shantanu Moitra (3 Idiots)

Best Editing
Rajkumar Hirani (3 Idiots)

Best Sound Recording

Bishwadeep Chatterjee, Nihal Ranjan Samel (3 Idiots)

Best Song Recording
Bishwadeep Chatterjee, Sachi K Sanghvi (3 Idiots)

Best Sound Re-recording
Anup Dev (3 Idiots)

Best Choreography

Bosco Martis, Caesar Gonsalves (Love Aaj Kal)

Best Costume Designing
Anahita Shroff Adajania, Dolly Ahluwalia (Love Aaj Kal)

Best Art Direction
Sabu Cyril (Aladin)

Best Special Effects (Visual)
Charles Darby - Eyecube Labs (Aladin)

Best Action
Shyam Kaushal (Kaminey)

Best Make up Artist
Christien Tinsley, Domini Till (Paa)


Most Recent