[Vote] DMK or AIADMK who will come to power - Public opinion Results


The fourteenth legislative assembly election was held on 13 April 2011 to elect members from 234 constituencies in Tamil Nadu. Results were released on 13 May 2011. Two major parties Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) and All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) faced the election as coalitions of multiple parties with the DMK front consisting of 8 parties and the AIADMK of 11 parties. Vijayakanth's Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK) which had contested the previous elections independently allied with AIADMK coalition. Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam boycotted the election following disagreement with Jayalalitha over seat-sharing. Tamil film actor Vijay for the first time was openly involved in Tamil Nadu politics by extending his support for ADMK.

Here is the public opinion conducted by the Thecinemanews.com & their results.

The election recorded the highest polling ever in the state - 77.8% of the total electorate voted in the election surpassing 76.57% polled in 1967 election. AIADMK front won the election, winning in 203 constituencies, with the AIADMK party itself winning 150 seats thus securing a simple majority to be able to form the government without the support of its coalition partners. DMDK won more seats than DMK and chose to serve as an opposition party. Political analysts concluded that the election was a referendum on the outgoing DMK government rather than a vote for the ADMK colaition. The election results set the stage for the swearing-in of J. Jayalalitha for the third time as the Chief minister of Tamil Nadu.

Results by alliance

Source: Election Commission of India (ECI) and Hindu Newspaper
Alliance/Party Seats won Change Popular Vote Vote %
AIADMK+ alliance 203 +130
AIADMK 150 +93
DMDK 29 +28
CPI(M) 10 +1

CPI 9 +3

PT 2 +2

MNMK 2 +2 181,180 0.5%
AIFB 1 +1

DMK+ alliance 31 -126
DMK 23 -77
INC 5 -32
PMK 3 -15

VCK 0 -2

Others 0 -4
BJP 0 0 824826 2.2%

IND 0 -1

†: MDMK left the AIADMK alliance due to failed seat sharing talks and boycotted this election.


Most Recent