63rd National Awards - Winners List

Baahubali has won the Best Film award at 63rd National Film Award. Bollywood superstar Amitabh Bachchan won the Best Actor award for his role in ‘Piku’while Kangana Ranaut won Best Actress for her role in ‘Tanu Weds Manu Returns.”

Samuthirakani picked up the Best Supporting Actor award for Visaranaai, a thriller based on the novel Lock Up by M. Chandrakumar. Maestro Ilayaraja bagged his 5th National Award for his background score in Bala's 'Thaarai Thappattai'. Tanvi Azmi won the Best Supporting Actress award for Bajirao Mastani, while the film’s director, Sanjay Leela Bhansali, bagged the Best Director award.

The prestigious awards — announced by a jury set up by the Information and Broadcasting Ministry — are given away by the President. There are 30 categories in the Feature Films segment and 22 in the non-feature films one.

In a newly introduced category, Gujarat was declared the most film-friendly State while Uttar Pradesh and Kerala earned special mentions. Gujarat’s single-widow clearance facility, dedicated web portal, international promotions, database of product facilities and hotels helped it clinch the award.

Here is the complete list of  63rd National Film Awards winners
Best Feature Film: Baahubali
Best Director: Sanjay Leela Bhansali (Bajirao Mastani)
Best Actor: Amitabh Bachchan (Piku)
Best Actress: Kangana Ranaut (Tanu Weds Manu Returns)
Special Jury Award – Kalki Koechlin (Magarita With A Straw)
Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director: Neeraj Ghaywan (Masaan)
Best Popular Film providing Wholesome Entertainment – Bajrangi Bhaijaan
Nargis Dutt award for Best Feature Film on National Integration – Nanak Shah Fakir
Best Film on social issues – Nirnayakam
Best film on Environment Conservation/Preservation – Valiya Chirakulla Pakshikal
Best Children's Film – Duronto
Special Mention – Ritika Singh (Irudhi Suttru)
Special Mention – Jayasurya (Su Su Sudhi Vathmeekam and Lukka Chuppi)
Special Mention – Rinku Rajguru (Sairat)
Best Supporting Actor – Samuthirakani (Visaaranai)
Best Supporting Actress – Tanvi Azmi (Bajirao Mastani)
Best child artist – Gaurav Menon (Ben)
Best Playback Singer (male) – Mahesh Kale – (Katyaar kalejat ghusli)
Best Playback Singer (Female) – Monali Thakur (Moh Moh Ke Dhaage- Dum Laga Ke Haisha)
Best Cinematography – Sudeep Chaterjee (Bajirao Mastani)
Best Screenplay Writer (original) – Juhi Chaturvedi (Piku) and Himanshu Sharma (Tanu Weds Manu Returns)
Best Dialogues: Juhi Chaturvedi (Piku) and Himanshu Sharma (Tanu Weds Manu Returns)
Best Editing – Late Kishore T.E. (Visaaranai)
Best costume designer and Make-up artist – Nanak Shah Fakir
Best Music direction – M Jayachandran (Kaathirunnu Kaathirunnu – Enny Ninte Moideen)
Best Background Score – Ilaiyaraaja (Thaarai Thappattai)
Best Choreography – Remo D'Souza (Deewani Mastani – Bajirao Mastani)
Best Assames Film – Kothanodi
Best Bengali film – Shankhachil
Best Hindi Film – Dum Lage Ke Haisha
Best Kannada Film – Thithi
Best Konkani Film – Enemy
Best Malayalam Film – Pathemari
Best Marathi Film – Ringan
Best Odiya Film – Pahada Ra Luha
Best Punjabi Film – Chauthi Koot
Best Tamil Film – Visaaranai
Best Telugu Film – Kanche
Best Sanskrit Film – Priyamanasam
Best Maithili Film – Mithila Makhaan
Best Mizo Film – Kima's Lode Beyond The Class
Best Manipuri Film – Eibusu Yaohanbiyu
Best Wancho Film – The Head Hunter
Best Haryanvi Film – Satrangi
Best Khasi Film – Onaatah
Best Bodo Film – Dau Huduni Methai


Most Recent