Indain OTT Streaming platforms gets Universal Self-Regulation Code

New regulation code for 15 OTT platforms in India including major players Zee5, Viacom18, Disney Hotstar, Amazon Prime Video, Netflix, MX Player, Jio Cinema etc.
The Internet and Mobile Association of India (IAMAI) has unveiled the Universal Self-Regulation Code for 15 Online Curated Content Providers in India.

The signatories to the new code are Zee5, Viacom18, Disney Hotstar, Amazon Prime Video, Netflix, MX Player, Jio Cinema, Eros Now, Alt Balaji, Arre, HoiChoi, Hungama, Shemaroo, Discovery Plus, and Flickstree. Sony Liv doesn’t appear to have signed on to the code yet.

The goal of this industry-wide effort is to empower consumers with information and tools to assist them in making informed choice with regard to viewing decisions for them and their families, while at the same time, nurturing creativity and providing creators the freedom to tell the finest stories.

To give consumers more choice and control, the Universal Self-Regulation Code includes a framework for age classification and content descriptions for titles as well as access control tools.

The Code also introduces a clear, transparent and structured grievance redressal and escalation mechanism for reporting non-compliance with the prescribed guidelines.

As a part of this mechanism, each OCCP will set-up a Consumer Complaints Department and/or an internal committee, as well as an advisory panel which will deal with complaints, appeals and escalations.

The new code relies on each OTT platform creating a three-member “advisory panel” that serves as an appeals body within the organisation itself. In that panel, two members are executives of the streaming service, and one is an “independent external advisor” who must not be employed by the company in any other capacity.

Each signatory to the code has agreed to appoint an external advisor as part of the grievance redressal mechanism by November 4th.


Most Recent